What’s your earliest food memory?

Rebecca Hobson

Bex Hobson

What’s your earliest food memory? A visit to my hometown of Sidmouth in East Devon over the Easter weekend has inspired this question. I’ve two very early memories of food. The first is of my sister running dipping her forefinger into a pot of marmite that had been left open on the side of our kitchen. The bigger sis by four years, I copied her without question though, always wanting to outdo her, scooped out an even bigger blob of the black sticky stuff, which I swallowed in one bitter gulp. The rest of the evening was spent bent over the toilet basin.

My second memory is of my sister running around the house with her pockets full of pastry. I can only assume that mum had made quiches and there was a dinner party involved as these seemed to be the moments where my sister and I, desperately excited, would skip about the place eating and showing off. (Such a combination culminated in my being sick on more than one occasion).

Fast forward twenty-odd years and I wonder what’s changed. Mum no longer makes quiches at her dinner parties, but my sister – who accompanied me on my recent countryside jaunt – and I still get over-excited when friends, family and food come together. Though neither of us suffered upset tummies and my sister doesn’t stuff her pockets with pastry any more, we did still gorge ourselves on the stuff (thanks to Andy). Mille Feulle filled with strawberry and lemon cream; an array of feta, goat’s, caramelised onion tarts and parmesan straws made from the left over bits. Evidently, we still love pastry.

What are your earliest food memories?

Bex Hobson: Blogger-at-Large for the Abergavenny Food Festival

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s your earliest food memory?

  1. Sophie Flax says:

    Wonderful! Pockets full of pastry…

    My earliest food memory is of my Nanna’s Irish soda bread with lashings of salty butter, crunchy crusts and so moist in the middle it was almost damp. She always smelled of that warm nutty bread and butter, and it permeated her house and everything she touched. Whenever I smell Irish soda bread today I think of her wiping her floury hands on her apron.

  2. Sigs says:

    Neither particularly early but two memories that stand out for me are mum’s white and dark chocolate mousse (side by side in the same dish, separated by a thin piece of cardboard until set) that she served at dinner parties (the mousse tended to follow Soufflés darling sister, quiches were definitely a family thing only!).

    The other is trying and failing to remain vegetarian whilst in French France with our family. They would have delicious moist roasts exquisite chops and steak hache and I a tin on tuna on the plate!!

  3. Frank says:

    oh dear my earliest food memories consist of penny sweets, covert ones that i smuggled at every opportunity, usually at least a small bag twice a day, empty milk bottles refilled with the weakest blackcurrant squash known to man and grated carrot with every meal (it being the only vegetable my brothers would tolerate). if my mum reads this i think she’ll have one of her “im the worst mother in the world” moments”. she’s not. but my food memories aren’t nearly as delightful as yours Bex!

  4. francesca says:

    My earliest food memories are intertwined with big family gatherings, eating all my granny by the seaside specialities
    ( that’s what we called her) . I was always on salad duty, she would give me the wet salad leaves to put in one of those dryers that you have to wiz around. All the women in our family used to gather in the kitchen helping with the washing up, I remember desperately trying to join in their conversation. She used to make the best fried fish with potato and cucumber salad finished with homemade banana ice cream. Mmm i can almost taste it- no one can make it like her.

  5. Lowri says:

    My earliest food memory is setting up a dolls tea party, using gorgeous tiny tea cups, plates of play dough biscuits, tea with real milk and sugar, marmite toast and bemusement that no one was eating much.

  6. Alie says:

    My dad used to make chips when the family was watching telly, Morcomb and Wise springs to mind, he would probably make a huge pile,scoff them in the kitchen and present my sister and I with a tiny saucer of sliver thin chippies, I can see and smell them now. The lard slightly coagulated where it had hit the cold saucer, salty, drenched in malt vinegar- Dad was confused at our disappointed faces, “you only need a taste” as if it was a fact and the idea that we might enjoy this forbidden delight as much as he a complete surprise to him!

Leave a Reply

