Rebecca’s Candy Mountain and Ffolky Ffelt at SweetieFest

Here are details on two more SweetieFest contributors – all part of our Christmas Food and Drink Fair this coming Sunday (8 December)

Rebecca BuckREBECCA’S CANDY MOUNTAIN

New Yorker Rebecca Buck has chisselled, gouged and carved her way all over the globe as a sculptor of rare talent. She’s even enjoyed a spell as an artist in residence in Kuala Lumpur.  But now SweetieFest has asked her to go where no sculptor has gone before; we’ve asked her to work with children AND animals at the same time and in a medium not often used in the art.

Rebecca’s Candy Mountain offers a rare opportunity to sculpt bunnies, mice, badgers, horses and (Rebecca’s favourite) dinosaurs from the vastest quantity of sugar fondant that’s ever been gathered together in one place.’Sugar is much trickier than granite or carrara marble’ says Rebecca ‘…but has the advantage of being much tastier’.

Make something weird, wonderful or both to take home! £3 each or £2.50 for 2.

Emma Bevan of Ffolky Ffelt2

FFOLKY FFELT

Emma Bevan says: I spent a few years tramping around my Welsh hills and valleys with my dog & camera, selling cards and prints part-time in between my tutoring. Then, having always been a busy bee, I was forced to sit and rest whilst I recuperated from chemo after a sudden & shocking diagnosis of NHL. Determined to kick its ass, but unable to concentrate on my other loves of reading/writing, a bonkers & wonderful Swedish friend suggested I stave off boredom by trying needle felting. I fell in love!!  I then tried wet felting, and loved that too! I gave little gifts to friends until a friend with a craft shop told me off & insisted I sell to the public. Scary!

Ffolky Felt sweetie bag

But I decided that surviving cancer meant I was meant to do things in life that were enjoyable, so I nervously launched FfolkyFfelt…  andto my surprised delight, it has blossomed – so a HUGE thank you to all my supporters, near & far. I have found my niche, and absolutely love teaching feltmaking or designing new creations or receiving excited orders from customers old & new. I have also met some amazing new friends, which I am very grateful for!
Emma will be selling various felt products at the Christmas Fair including gift pouches which are ideal for sweeties or other small gifts.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment